Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Discover Military

Royal Thai Army

The Royal Thai Army is the army of Thailand responsible for protecting its sovereignty, like most land armies in the world. It is one of the oldest and largest branch of the Royal Thai Armed Forces. The army was formed in 1874, partly as a response to new security threats following the Bowring Treaty with Britain, which opened up the country for international trade.

[ad#Google Adsense 468×60]
The Royal Thai Army is divided into 4 Army Regions

The Royal Thai Army Field Organisation

The Royal Thai Army is divided into 4 Army Regions:

  • First Army Region – headquartered in Bangkok and is responsible for the country’s western and central provinces including the capital city.
    • 1st, 2nd, 9th and 11th infantry divisions
    • 1st Development division
  • Second Army Region – headquartered in Nakhon Ratchasima and is responsible for the northeastern quadrant.
    • 3rd, 6th and 12th infantry divisions
    • 2nd Development divisions
  • Third Army Region – headquartered in Phitsanulok, responsible for the northern and northwestern parts of the kingdom.
    • 4th infantry division
    • 1st armor division
    • 3rd development division
  • Fourth Army Region – headquartered in Nakhon Si Thammarat, responsible for southern Thailand.
    • 5th infantry division
    • 4th development division

Tactical units

Altogether the army is organised into the following Tactical Units:

  • 7 infantry divisions (including 5 tank battalions)
  • 1 armoured division
  • 1 cavalry division (a light armour division)
  • 2 special forces divisions trained and geared for small unit special and airborne operations
  • 1 field artillery division
  • 1 air defense artillery division
  • 8 independent infantry battalions
  • 3 airmobile companies provided the ground force units with battlefield support

The Royal Thai Army also controls at least one television network, the Thai Global Network.
[ad#Google Adsense 300×250]