Singapore Infantry Regiment


The Singapore Infantry Regiment is the main formation of the Singapore Army. It consists of nine full-time battalions and a number of National Service (NS), or Reservist battalions.

The 1st Battalion, Singapore Infantry Regiment (1 SIR) was formed in 1957 against the backdrop of self-government for Singapore. Recruitment began on 4 March 1957 with only Singapore citizens and persons born and bred in Singapore were recruited. Out of a total of 1,420 applicants, 237 were initially accepted for training. It was intended that 1 SIR together with another battalion would form part of a regiment within a brigade group in the Singapore Military Forces.
Self-government for Singapore in 1959 gave 1 SIR the opportunity to mount the Istana Guards in place of the Gurkhas, while the battalion was presented with Queen’s and Regimental Colours in 1961. The following year, the 2nd Battalion was raised.

[ad#Google Adsense 300×250]

For two years between 1963 and 1965, Singapore was part of Malaysia, and the regiment was renamed the Malaysian Infantry Regiment. On Singapore’s independence in 1965, the regiment regained its former name. In 1967 two more battalions, the 3rd and 4th, were raised as part of the move towards National Service. 1 SIR and 2 SIR were also converted to NS battalions. Four further battalions were raised over the next few years, although 7 SIR and 8 SIR were eventually re-roled to become the 3rd and 2nd Battalions, Singapore Guards.


1st Battalion – Mandai Hill Camp
2nd Battalion – Amoy Quee Camp
3rd Battalion – Selarang Camp
4th Battalion – Lim Chu Kang Camp I
5th Battalion – Bukit Panjang Camp
6th Battalion – Maju Camp
8th Battalion – Clementi Camp
9th Battalion – Maju Camp